Scoliosis Support  

Go Back   Scoliosis Support > Scoliosis > Kyphosis, Lordosis and Flatback Room

Notices

Old 19th October 2005, 07:25 PM
OrangeD

As most of you are aware I am a Prison officer and love my job. Today I have been offered a job as a police officer. I will not take the position as my surgery is coming up and i am happy at present however; I mentioned to them i am having back surgery. They instant replied "You would therefore not be able to enter and we withdraw our application" I of course ask for them to explain further. "We are aware of your back condition however any form of treatment will automatically disqualify you from entry."

I am not fussed however it did annoy me bit. Was surprised that they outright deny entry to those who have received treatment for back issues.

Fused or unfused, at peak physical fitness do you feel you could not take such a job on? Does your back effect your work now?

Again, I am now concerned at my medical after surgery i face with the prison. I should be less curios.
Old 19th October 2005, 07:30 PM
bionic, baby

i think that's a bit harsh that they outright ignore you if you have back issues. surely if a person felt confident in making an application that you know your own limitations and wouldn't apply for such responsibility if you couldn't handle it? hmm. so the police force wouldn't consider someone like me or many others on here who have had surgery in our teens? bizarre.

i can't really answer your question - i'm still not far along in my journey. i know that at the moment i couldn't do a full time job or one which involves standing all day (plus i'm still not allowed to do heavy lifting) but i don't know how i'll be in the future. i can't see myself feeling restricted and hopefully i'll stay healthy for some time to come.