Scoliosis Support  

Go Back   Scoliosis Support > Scoliosis > General Discussions

Notices

Old 30th May 2014, 09:34 PM
OrangeL

Smile Introduction- Surgery in 3 days

Hi all! (essay to follow!)

My name is Hayley- I'm 21 years old with an 88 degree right thoracic curvature and a 60+ degree left lumbar compensatory curve. I'm heading in for surgery on Monday- feeling extremely nervous, but prepared. I was actually scheduled for this past Wednesday- but was told in the hospital bed, already in my gown, that I had been rescheduled! Needless to say my nerves were pretty shot.

I've been exercising with foam rollers for about six months to limber up my spine and eating lots of protein and calcium-rich foods. I'm not sure if these measures help at all, but they make me feel more in control.

I'll be having the surgery at Baylor Plano in Texas with Dr. Michael O'Brien. Originally he had planned to fuse T2-T12, but at my pre-op informed me that the fusion might need to be extended to L2 due to the magnitude of the compensatory curve. Naive internet-researcher that I am, I asked if it would be at all possible to go back to T12 and try to work out my lumbar curve on my own. He said compensatory curves take a while to work themselves out, but I'm willing to put in the work over the next year if it's possible. They all seem very understanding about mobility concerns, and I know with a curve my size I can't really be too picky. It'll be the doc's call in the end. He also recommends a thoracoplasty, which I feel I might as well get since I'll already be laid up. He says I have some of the most significant rib rotation he's seen, and it's unlikely the fusion will be able to correct it fully. Again- very scared about the rib pain- I've never even broken a bone!