PDA

View Full Version : Alexander Technique???

sarahsmum
13th February 2009, 12:52 AM
Hi everyone.

I hope you all are well.
I have been doing some reading on the Alexander Technique and have found a few ladies who have clinics near to where i live. As you guys know Sarah suffers alot from back pain and i would really really like to help her instead of watching her suffer. On everything that i have read on AT, it doesn't once mention scoliosis it primarily helps back pain. I wanted to ask if there is anyone who has any experience with AT who could give me some advice. I tried to search it on this forum but didn't get anything so i don't know if this has been discussed before or not.

Thankyou for all your help

nutmeg
13th February 2009, 06:48 AM
I would recommend trying Alexander Technique for Sarah. I'm one of the fortunate people who has never had much pain from my scoliosis, and I started learning AT to improve my breathing for singing. However after a few lessons I found I was much more aware of my body, and could adjust my posture so that I no longer ached after driving long distances.

There are some other threads about AT in here, but I'm no expert with the search function.

Here is a link to an account of someone with kyphoscoliosis who used Alexander Technique to reduce pain
http://www.stat.org.uk/pages/kyphoscoliosisstory.htm

And this link is to the UK society of teachers of the Alexander Technique
http://www.stat.org.uk/

And this one about AT for children - mentions scoliosis
http://www.stat.org.uk/pages/education.htm

carolad
13th February 2009, 11:11 AM