PDA

View Full Version : Questions about surgery

Brooke87
21st January 2009, 02:57 AM
Hi:

I have an 80 degree kyphosis curve and a 45 degree scoliosis curve. I am having surgery and have a few questions about what to expect.

1. After the surgery will I feel the rods in my back?
2. How limited will my motion be a few months after the surgery?
3. To what extent are your everyday functions changed after surgery?

Thanks,
Brooke

Simon
21st January 2009, 10:10 PM
Hey

Welcome to the Sso

Many of us have had surgery to answer you questions ..

A lot of people dont Feel the rods and screws in there spine i think am one of the few that feel my screws and thats only because I am very skinny .

My motion Was limited for about 2 mths but people differ from person to person You will find that you will be stiff for the first mth or so but gradually that will ease .

my everyday functions as in the previous Answer Was limited and still is to a certain degree it All depends on age , how fit you are beofre hand , and What you are used to doing in everyday life ,

Sorry i carnt answer your question more Accurately Am sure someone might be able to answer your questions better .

For the time being Welcome

x

Buffalowilliam
26th January 2009, 07:36 PM
Hey Brooke:

1. I can feel them where the screw heads are, but not he bars themselves - just feels like you've got a really wide spine

2. Not at all. The advice is not to bend straight over and pick stuff up and don't go swimming. Beyond that you should be fine

3. Depends how long after you mean. Three years down the road and I cycle 12 miles a day, go to the gym three times a week and dance my butt off in clubs all weekend. So you should be fine.

hvdeen
1st February 2009, 05:38 AM