PDA

View Full Version : CONFUSED

Simon
19th January 2008, 07:04 PM
HI guys and girls

First off just a big thank you for all your support since i have joined.
If your reading this post I want to thank you for everything

You all know that my surgery is looming and that am getting more and more nervous
I have had plenty of operations though my time but none as big as this.... :woe:

This has been playing on my mind for a few days now and i still dont know the answer so am hoping someone will
:???:

I have a 92 degree upper thoracic curve (kyphosis) and am having a posturer fusion with instrumentation...

The questions is
When am asleep and on the table lying i presume on my front how are they going to know how much to straighten my spine as if i lie on my front the curve is not noticeable as my spine is not stiff its flexible..

So for instance i have just been lying flat on the floor on my tummy and my spine seems straight just like it does when i flex my shoulders back my spine corrects itself
even know i can not hold it there.

Am i making sense
:???:

Anyway its one of them questions that doing my nut in i am prob worrying to much i just want them to be able to correct it first time.

Mr williamson said as its flexible they can correct it to within normal limits.
:help: :niceone:

GillyG
19th January 2008, 07:30 PM
If your kyphosis corrects when you are lying on your tummy then it'll make the job even easier for the surgeons - they'll put all the instrumentation in and fix everything in place while your spine is nice and straight :D

Amazed Jean
19th January 2008, 09:26 PM
Yep, I'm sure it will be easier to get a straight spine for you that way.

jfkimberly
20th January 2008, 01:39 AM