PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

surreymum
23rd January 2007, 01:38 PM
Hello to everyone,

My son, aged 9, has had a lumbar spine xray, which has shown a slight curve. We have an appointment with a consultant from Orthorpaedics on the 31st January.

I am very new to curves and scoliosis, so please forgive my ignorance, I was wondering if a slight curve is definately scoliosis, or if there is something else it may be, or if some people natuarally have slight curves?

If anyone has suggestions of questions I should ask when we see the consultant, I would be very grateful, as I am a bit worried that I may miss something that is important or useful to know.

Many Thanks

titch
23rd January 2007, 02:22 PM
Hi,

I'm sorry you're having to go through such stress and worry, but nevertheless :welcome2: We'll do all we can to help and support you :-)

Generally speaking, if a curve measures less than 10, it is not considered to be scoliosis. However, in a child who has not yet stopped growing, or even an older teenager who may not quite have stopped growing yet, even a curve this small will need to be monitored to see if it changes or increases.

It's definitely true that a lot of people have small curves and never suffer any problem from them, but it is very unpredictable whether any individual curve will remain small. Generally speaking, curves which are no bigger than about 40 degrees when growth has finished will not progress, but curves bigger than 40-50 degrees are likely to continue to progress slowly over the years even after growth has finished.

The main aim of treatment therefore is to monitor for progression or change, and if there is any (or the curve is large enough when first discovered) to treat it eg with bracing, to prevent further progression and keep it small enough that surgery will hopefully not be required.