PDA

View Full Version : Our visit with surgeon

lljustice2002
2nd July 2006, 02:47 PM
Hi everyone :spin: My son and I had our first appointment with Dr.Stanley Lee this past thursday at the University of Michigan. I have to say it went really good, his staff was very nice.

My x-rays showed that I have an 85 degree kyphotic curvature with some scoliosis while my son has a 72 degree curvature. My curvature being worse than I thought it would be, but I'm not suprised about it.

Dr. Lee wants to do Posterior Fusion only for both of us. I have already agreed to the surgery for myself and only need to stop smoking before I can set a surgery date. My son wants the surgery also but his mother wanted some more time to think about it before making a decision.

I know some here have had anterior /posterior fusion, and one of my worries would be if I can get the same correction with posterior only. I know it varies from surgeon to surgeon. And from Dr. Lee's presentation I saw from Scoliosis Research Society's web site he believes in posterior only with pedicle screws and smith-peterson osteotomies. Is anyone familier with what Smith-peterson osteotomies are or mean?

Gonna go for now...Hope everyone here is doing good! :niceone:

Lanny

titch
2nd July 2006, 05:25 PM
This web page: http://www.spineuniverse.com/displayarticl...article858.html (http://www.spineuniverse.com/displayarticle.php/article858.html) shows quite clearly how a Smith-Petersen osteotomy works. Basically, removal of the facet joints (part of the way that one vertebra attaches to the next) allows the spine to be pulled backward. So in the case of kyphosis, it allows the curve to be straightened out somewhat. It sounds like a good way of approaching it - Smith-Petersen osteotomies are also sometimes used, as in the article, to restore lordosis (the back waist curve) in people where it has become reduced.