PDA

View Full Version : Pre op done!

Phil
7th November 2005, 05:21 PM
Got to Hinchingbrooke this morning, met my spinal nurse who was very nice. She talked to me about the procedure and explained the first thing that I did not like. I am having 2 stage surgery. First surgery is the 6th of December and the second stage is on the 20th of December. They them aim to keep me in for about 2 weeks after that! Thats a month in hospital! Not happy with that!

I then had spirometry, bloods and x rays. Then off I went to see my surgeon!
He looked at my x rays, originally at 16 I had a 42 degree thoratic kyphosis. 10 months ago I have a 68 degree thoratic kyphosis with slight rotation of the thoratic region creating my scoliosis and rib hump I guess.

I know have a 75 degree kyphosis, the thoratic area has rotated more and i now have a 35 degree lumbar curve with hypo-kyphosis (sp?) whatever that is.

My back has gotten worse, my mum started to get teary which made me angry because my coping strategy is strength. I asked him what he expects to fuse, the minimum he will fuse will be T4 to L4. Maybe more.

He has said 6 months from driving and 1 year from the prison service.

The staff were great but today has not been a great day!

Abbi
7th November 2005, 05:29 PM
Phil, I am sorry pre -op didn't go as you would have liked! I am not sure I understand why they are leaving two weeks in between the first and second stages....I also don't see why they don't do two stages together! I know this will mean you'll have to spend Christmas in hospital.....but you'll be so glad to have it over with, and to be starting the new year with a brand new spine!
I really don't know if there is much I can say here but give you a huge hug :squeeze:

I'm here if u wana moan, or need virtual hugs!

Abbi

sins
7th November 2005, 05:30 PM