PDA

View Full Version : Rib cage

Kate823
19th July 2005, 04:16 AM
Hey everyone! I'm new here and need some help! I have a 30 degree curve and my rib cage is twisting! Is this normal? The left side of my rib cage is higher then the left and I'm kind of concerned. I have a doctors appointment, but need some advice before I go. Can the fix the twisting? I hate my ribs and chest being deformed and would like some way to fix them. Can they fix my ribs at least a little? I'm even willing to have surgery. Thanks!

titch
19th July 2005, 09:18 AM
Hi Kate! :welcome2:

With most curves, especially thoracic ones (essentially ones above the waist), the fact that the spine also rotates a certain amount will cause what is called a rib hump - this sounds like what you are describing.

When, and if, to have surgery depends on a variety of things including the size of the curve, the rotation of it, and whether you have stopped growing yet or not (the figure usually quoted is that girls will stop growing within 2 years of starting their periods - on xray, how close you are to stopping growing is measured by what is known as the Risser sign - 0 means you have a lot of growth left, 5 is fully grown).

There is an operation that they can do to reduce the rib hump, but it's generally only done with, or after, the main spine surgery. Having it done on it's own should be approached with caution - it's something which doesn't seem to be done often, because it might destabilise the spine and make the curve increase in some cases.

Hopefully your doctor will be able to answer all your questions when you see him. Can I ask how old you are, and when your curve was measured at 30 degrees?

sins
19th July 2005, 11:30 AM
Hi kate,
As Titch has said the rib cage twisting is caused by the spine twisting like the steps of a spiral staircase.This will pull the ribs out of shape somewhat.If your curve is 30 degrees it's unlikely that you'll be offered spinal fusion surgery.