PDA

View Full Version : New, my story.

Phil
28th February 2005, 12:42 AM
Hey everyone, I am new to the forums. They look great!

I am Phil, 20 Year Old male from the UK, Norfolk.

I have a 62 degree kyphosis and slight scoliosis. After a few years of being fobbed off I have now been told I need surgery asap. Should be in 6-9 months time.
I have been told i need a spinal fusion with intrumentation going through the side (anterial?) and through the back (Posterial?) over two operations.

I have researched the procedure in great detail, however there is nothing like talking to people with condition and who have been through it.

Looking forward to getting to know some of you, feel free to PM or add me msn to talk, or over these great boards.

Jonny
28th February 2005, 02:27 AM
Hiya Phil - welcome to the family! :wave:

I'm 16 from Bedford and had my scoliosis surgery in the summer at Stanmore. Naturally I had a slight hyperkyphosis/lordosis with the scoliosis. The lordosis was corrected, the kyphosis wasn't (a hook came out, which is incredibly rare) and I'm going in very soon to have it re-done. Most of my fusion is complete and solid, though.

My surgery was anterior and posterior fusion too :-) my two stages were done a week apart rather than at the same time, although different surgeons and different hospitals prefer different things. Feel free to ask me anything about it - although yours is primarily kyphosis surgery, it's pretty much exactly the same procedure.

Where is your clinic, and who's your surgeon? It's good to hear the ball's rolling, and those few months will pass like lightning.

And we need more men on this forum!

Jonny

butterflylr
28th February 2005, 03:46 AM
Ooh! Welcome to SSO! You'll enjoy it here! :welcome2:

I'm Lindsay and I'm 23 years old. I live in Sammamish, Washington (USA) and I have an S curve of approximately 45 and 30. I've never had surgery for it and I've recently been told that I may not ever need to (surprisingly).